Chia: Not Just for Heads and Pets

I went crazy this week and splurged on some foods that we have wanted to stock up on, but can be pricey at the outset: coconut oil, hemp hearts, chia seeds. Let’s talk about chia seeds, shall we?

Chia is a member of the mint family; it’s high in essential fatty acids (really, really high), protein, soluble fibre (nearly 40% of the recommended daily dose in 1/4 cup of seeds), calcium, magnesium, and a whack of other good-for-you things. No wonder it has been getting a lot of press! When placed in liquid, chia absorbs up to 9 times its weight and forms a gelatinous goo that is amazingly good for you (and can be turned into a lot of different things, for instance: a vegan egg replacer).

Grown in Central America (Mexico and Guatemala), Chia crops date back to pre-Colombian times.

3 Popular Ways to Ingest Chia Seeds

1. Chia Fresca: A drink of water and chia seeds, perhaps with citrus or other fruits for flavour.  I’m drinking this as I write this post…I’m not really sure how I feel about it, just yet. It’s like bubble tea, but different. I like the weird texture and the very light flavour (I added some lemon, too), but I’m not sure I could make this a regular thing. 

2. Chia On Yogurt: Yes. This is a great choice. I take 2 tbsp and put it on my greek yogurt in the morning, along with some hemp hearts.

3. Chia Pudding. I haven’t tried it, but I suppose you can take the goo and turn it into a tapioca-like pudding. 

Image

Leave a Reply

