6 Weeks Until Showtime!

I’ve been crazy busy this week doing competition prep, in addition to my visits to the gym. Competing isn’t so much a hobby as it is a lifestyle…

I went to a custom swimwear designer and we collaborated to make my bikini; it’s the nod to Wonder Woman I was looking for, but it’s not kitschy or over-the-top. The suit is costing me $195, but based on the discussion and the work this woman has done for other people, I think it will be well worth it. Also, she had the great idea that down the road, I can order a blue and gold top and red and gold bottoms, so I have three different bikinis for the price of two.

I also got my shoes! They are typical acrylics, but they are not crazy high and they have a very elegant slingback/peep-toe look to them. They were $95, but I think they should be good for any future competitions, as well.

I also got weighed and pinched by my trainer this week. Good news! I am up 2lbs, but down 1.2% body fat. As of Friday, I was at 145lbs, 13.5%. We discussed the new program I’m starting the last week of September and the carb cycling that I’ve begun, as well as the supplements I’ve been taking.

This week I had a perfect gym and near-perfect food week. There was a cheat snack in there (one half of a grilled cheese with fried egg, avocado, and tomato, on white bread). Today was leg day and I felt very strong, did not miss a single rep and I kept up a good pace–no extra breaks. I also  made and packed-up some very healthy eats for the next few days:

Cobb salad (spinach, hardboiled egg, avocado, chicken breast, cherry tomatoes, light feta cheese)
Cajun salmon fillets with steamed broccoli and a very small portion of roasted sweet potato
Chipotle chili ( lean ground beef, diced tomatoes, pinto beans, black beans, kidney beans, mushrooms, onion, green and red pepper, chipotle pepper, garlic)

I’ve started tanning and using a serious bronzer. I haven’t had time for the past two days to go tanning, but I’m going t make it part of my routine through the week. I will mystic the week of, at least twice.

Also, near tragedy: I burned my stomach (not tanning, read on!) taking roasting veggies out of the oven. I know what you’re thinking “wear a shirt when you cook, hillbilly.” For the record, I was wearing a shirt, it was just disheveled. I put a cool cloth on the wound and then spread Polysporin on it (and have reapplied with gusto)…I really hope it doesn’t scar and it’s all healed up in time for October 20…fingers crossed! It’s about 3 inches long and 1/4 inch wide.

I’ve also been researching stage makeup and have purchased a few items for the big day (fake lashes, some much needed new brushes, contouring colour, brow pencil). To be honest, I’ve been watching drag queen videos: they are great at contouring and concealing for stage! I figure these guys are the authority on how not to get washed out by bright lights. My plan is to go for a Sophia Loren a la “Marriage Italian Style” look. I need to wait until my mystic tan colour is complete before I can shop for foundation.

I also started pumicing and moisturizing my feet and grooming my finger- and toe-nails. I have a few shades of red that I’m considering for my toes and I will go neutral with my finger-nail polish.

I’m feeling really good about competing. I know I can win; I believe I will win.

 

 

Leave a Reply

