Bad Gym Days

We all have them: those days where you feel like you aren’t strong enough, fast enough, or good enough. I had one of those yesterday. I completed every set, every rep, and even did a few extras to show-off. I challenged myself and pushed hard. The wheels started spinning during my last set–I couldn’t stand being in my own skin for another minute. I started thinking about all the little cheats that I’ve been allowing myself here and there…the near 15-year love-affair with cigarettes…the booze…the wasted hang-over days…the overall pollution to which I’ve subjected myself.

Yeah, it was a real bummer.

Instead of loving myself for making positive changes and being dedicated, I was beating myself up for the things in the past that I can’t possibly change. This was totally counter-productive; I know this innately, but hearing it from my partner, during a much-needed pep-talk, helped.

I’ve decided that I need to be proactive when it comes to combatting a negative outlook during this journey to competition day, here are a few strategies I’m going to employ:

1. Yoga. I find yoga makes me feel connected in mind and body and I am able to shut out nearly every thought that doesn’t have to do with my immediate physical situation. Karma classes at Moksha are in order.

2. Organization. I’m feeling cluttered on a lot of levels right now. I’m going to pare down my worldly possessions and find a home for all of them. Keeping my stuff in order will maybe help me feel more prepared to compete.

3. Present-mindedness. A conscious effort needs to be made to stop planning for the future, quit reflecting on the past, and just stay in the moment. This applies to all areas of my life.

4. More fun. Why so serious? It’s time to do a few pelvic thrusts in life’s general direction, get the lead out,  and shake the cobwebs out from betwixt my ears. I have a trip to Montreal happening this week, I think it’s just what the doctor ordered.

Today was a better gym day; I kept picturing myself on stage and imagining the feeling of accomplishment that will wash over me when I win first-place.

Leave a Reply

