Out of the Gym, Into the World

I’m so bored of the gym right now; the weather is too nice, the sun too sunny. Here are some things I’ve been up to, beating the monotony of the gym:

Sunday I did an outdoor bootcamp at the beach. It was only $10 and it was a fabulous workout! The trainer had us doing frog hops, squats, jump squats, lunges, jump lunges, Russian twists, mountain climbers, push-ups, triceps dips, bicycles, inch worms, and burpees. It was hellish, but my posterior chain was definitely feeling it the next day. It was the kind of workout I wouldn’t have opted for on my own.

Monday I tried Muay Thai and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu–awesome! Before you can even step on the mats, you have to do a workout; then we covered some basic techniques…then we rolled! I was paired up with a male friend of mine, which was good for me, bad for him. It was a different sort of workout because I’m not used to pushing that kind of weight around.

I’ve also been going for a lot of long bike rides and incorporating sprints into the ride; pushing hard up-hill, too. The bike rides have been an amazing way of sneaking in cardio, which for me is my biggest challenge (next to making wise food choices).

I’ve made a point of walking around town whenever possible, making some trips to the beach, and trying to be generally on-the-go. It feels good to get away from the weights and trying new things.

Leave a Reply

