Supplements

Okay, so I’ve been back to the gym for two weeks. I’m recording what I’ve been eating and my diet has been improving drastically. I’m becoming a well-oiled machine. It’s time to get back into the habit of taking supplements.

1. Post-workout protein. I’ve always been pretty dilligent about taking a shake or having some chicken or fish at the ready, but I’m going to kick it into high gear and really be mindful of the importance of fast-digesting protein. I will be using a whey protein isolate, yogurt, milk/water, and berries or a banana for my homemade shakes. These are more cost-effective than pre-mixed.

2. Omega-3. 2 x 1000mg softgells with each meal. That’s all there is to it.

3. Multivitamin. Working out can be stressful on the body–to ensure I’m running with all cylinders, a multivitamin is important.

4. BCAAs. Branch chain amino acids have been recommended before, during, and after my workouts. I have 3 giant bottles, so that works out well. These are fast absorbing proteins that aid in recovery and muscle growth. I will admit to seeing better results with arms and abs when I was regularly taking BCAAs with my workouts.

 

 

Leave a Reply

